“It’s my jam”

Nah, not Lady Gaga or Justin Bieber. Not even Maher Zain or Yusuf Islam.

I’m thinking more along the lines of Sheikh Bandar Baleela, Sheikh Salmaan Al Utaybi, Sheikh Abdur Rahman As Sudais and the like.. I haven’t got a favourite Qari, that’s for sure. Picking just one? The struggle is real, bro.

There’s something soothing about listening to the Quraan. It’s instantly calming. “ Listening to the recitation of Quran with attention serves as a reminder, brings close to the blessing and mercy of Allah and makes a person open to understanding and guidance.” (I actually just took that from http://www.quranreading.com/blog/benefits-and-rewards-of-listening-the-holy-quran/)

But what’s wrong with Nasheeds? I hear you, I really do (okay, not really. That’d be freaky), but in today’s time, there seems to be a gross misconception in what is allowed and what isn’t. Why is it that so many of these ‘songs’ contain musical instruments or something very close to musical instruments in the?

See, the purpose of Nasheeds are simple:
1. To flame the love of Allah (Ta’ala) within the hearts of the listeners.
2. To encourage people to follow the Sunnah of Rasullullah (S.A.W).
3. To embellish the hearts of the listeners with the good qualities of Taqwa, Sabr and good character
4. To enjoin good and forbid evil.
5. To create an aversion for sin within the hearts of the people.

Right, now that we get that- How do you presume to attain those things when they’re doof-doof sounds erupting in the background? STAY AWAY FROM ALL THAT EVEN HAS AN IOTA OF DOUBT! There is a constant debate going on about one being allowed to listen to Maher Zain. Huh, why can’t we? He does have the ‘vocals only’ songs, you know. That’s another thing I don’t get, actually (is this me not getting stuff becoming a habit?! *gasp*): If he can create ‘vocals only’ albums, why would he still break out the guitar and drums? Maybe I’m just lazy (who am I kidding? I AM lazy), but doing everything twice over? Ain’t nobody got time for that.

Wait, I’m getting carried away. My point was meant to be that there are even speculation on there being said musical instruments in the ‘vocals only’ Nasheeds as well. Hey, doubt = stay away. Believe me, I’m a huge fan of boasting my not-so-good singing abilities and I cannot work without a background crew, so I totally get it. Because his Nasheeds have ah-ma-zing lyrics. But I’ve stopped myself from putting on his CD’s (I think I do a pretty good job singing it on my own, honestly. Just download the lyrics, and there ya go. Something guaranteed to irritate your siblings and you’re saving yourself from quite possibly, indirectly listening to music. Win-win situation). Renounce, Refrain and Reject (look at that- we have our own 3 R’s. thank you, Thesaurus).

Quraan is our first choice. But, Quraan deserves respect. And if you know you’re going to disrespect it by talking while it’s playing and you don’t want to go there, don’t despair! Stick in Hafez AbuBakr or most Arabic Nasheeds. Anybody that you know for sure doesn’t do a King Kong impersonation on the drums or guitar. If it’s Zikr, all the better. Another Win-win situation (Man, we’ve thought of 2 in one day.. Success!)

P.S. With regards to the Quran App – In brief, touching the screen that has Quranic Ayats on it requires you to be in the state of wudhu. If you can scroll down pages without touching the screen (blackberry users mostly), you don’t have to have wudhu when operating the App.

Remember, you take one step towards Allah, Allah takes ten steps towards you.

May Allah protect us all and grant us the ability to overcome our Nafs.

Love and Duas,
TWS ❤

image

2 comments

  1. Ameen. I’m also quite skeptical about those supposed maher zain “vocal only” nasheeds. Sounds to me like there’s still some kind of instruments being played.

    Like

    1. Seriously! And when you’re listening for it, it becomes more obvious 🙈

      Like

Leave a Reply

