“AH TISSUE”

*That pun was so intended and I regret nothing, so hah!*

I’ve been sick. Like, full-blown, can’t-breathe-through-my-nose sick. Which is why I haven’t posted all (excluding Monday and Thursday) week. There was no time in between the sniffling and nose-blowing. What I learnt was that tissues can be quite stuck-up (maybe it’s just the brand I used), and they laugh at plainly none of the jokes you tell them (at least I got to make a pun out of them). So they got boring fast. And my pity party wasn’t well attended. I got over it.

Think about the Arabic Dua for when visiting a sick person. ‘Do not despair, this is the cleansing of sins..’ (Translating that might not make me fluent in Arabic, but it won’t stop me from thinking it does). It, in itself, tells us the benefits of being sick. And yes, I said (typed?) benefits. Use this time to make Dua. Allah chose you to be brought closer to Him. Let this be a means of you moving forward in your Deen.

Hadrat Abu S a’eed Khudri (R.A.) reports that Rasulullah (S.A.W) said, ‘When a Mu’min experiences any fatigue, disease, sorrow, grief, hurt or distress, even to the extent that if a thorn has to prick him, Allah Ta’ala wipes away some of his sins for that.’ (Sahih Bukhaari)

Hold your fire. There’s more.

Our Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W) said: “The sick person’s sleep is considered as worship and his moaning as litany of praise to Allah. He is rewarded as though he is performing his usual prayers when he was healthy although he is unable to do so now. His supplications are accepted, his sins are forgiven, all his mistakes and wrong-doings recorded in his book are deleted, and he is told `Very well, start your new life with an absolutely clean book!’”

Motive to eat that ice-cream in frosty weather, right here. I’m kidding. My mummy will come for me, and then your mummy will come for me, and I’m not ready for that because one of my hands will be occupied clutching my tissue and I’ll have to pause every 5 minutes (sadly enough, that’s progress) to sneeze. Not fun (I think the tablets count as the fun part).

Hadrat Ataa bin Abi Rabaah (R.A.) relates, “Once Ibn Abbaas said to me, ‘Shall I tell you of a woman from amongst the People of Jannah?’ I said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘A certain black lady came to Nabi (S.A.W) and said, ‘I get attacks of epilepsy and my body gets uncovered, so please invoke (i.e. make dua to) Allah for me.’ Nabi (S.A.W) told her: ‘If you wish, you could be patient and you will enter Jannah; or if you wish, I will make dua to Allah to cure you.’ She replied, ‘I will remain patient,’ and added, ‘but I become uncovered, so please make dua to Allah for me that I do not become uncovered.’ So he made dua for her.” (Bukhaari and Muslim)

A Sahabi (R.A). Look at what she wanted! Dunya is not our concern. It shouldn’t bother us. Because we choose Aakirah.

Every. Single. Time.

Remember, you take one step step towards Allah, Allah takes ten steps towards you.

May Allah protect us all and grant us the ability to overcome our Nafs.

Love and Duas,

TWS ❤

Sick4

2 comments

  1. Well written ماشاءالله!!

    Like

    1. Jazakallah Khair 💜 those tablets WERE pretty strong, so credit goes to them as well 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

