“Ya’ll need more of them manners”

Nabi (S.A.W) said: “Verily, I was sent for no other reason, except to perfect the noble traits of character.”

You know you get these moments where you just question your sanity, or lack thereof, at the hands of- in polite terms- imbeciles. You seem to be the only one irritated by the mother that lets her child get away with everything. If I had to stop touching other people’s stuff without permission, so should you! The world is being overtaken by rudeness and we seem to choose not to comment or complement.

Nobody says the words “Please” and “Thank you/Jazakallah Khair” anymore. Is it taboo or something? Maybe I’m missing out an important detail. Does everyone else also speak English? Otherwise, you need to teach that to your child. Yeah, so cute the way she forces you to buy everything for her and is totally about to become an ill-mannered kid *forced laughter*. Nabi (S.A.W) said: “No father can give a child anything better than good manners” [Tirmidhi].

Why do people blast music that leaves you with a headache, a side-effect of the invasion of ‘doof-doof’ sounds into your personal bubble? “Thank you for the thought, but my radio does work. I even have a CD slotted in and everything. Not that I’m able to hear it over the racket you’re creating. #Fail”

Here’s another thing- I am standing in the line. There exists an invisible line around me. This wonderful thing called ‘personal space’. If you’re going to peep over my shoulder into my phone, at least help me level up on the game I’m currently occupied with. Seriously, if I wasn’t so lazy, I’d draft up a petition for stores to allocate tile spaces per shopper.

“You think I dress like a ninja. I might be. So if you do not stop your incessant staring and pointing, I will make you disappear.” I know they’re just children; I don’t really not mind. I’ll just widen my eyes at them, and get a feeling of satisfaction when they grip their parents out of fear of an 18 year old teenager who’ll still get excited over a jumping castle. But it’s also individuals with disabilities or impairments. You’re allowing your child to make others uncomfortable, and that doesn’t reflect a whole lot of good on your part.

As unexpected as this may seem, good manners are the best form of Da’wah. Actions speak louder than words. Nabi (S.A.W) is the textbook example. Sahaabah (R.A) used to accept Islam, based on their observance of the Rasool (S.A.W). How was Islam spread during its early stages? Countries like India and the far east of Asia… Muslim Arab merchants used to show the best of character, particularly during trade, to all societies. Because of the admiration and respect that people developed for them, many embraced Islam.

When A’isha (R.A) was asked about the character of the Nabi (S.A.W), she answered: “His character was the Quraan.” [Muslim]

When someone would speak to Him (S.A.W), he would turn around fully to talk. When He (S.A.W) shook hands, he was the last one to let go. When speaking with Him (S.A.W), he was never the first to look away. From people who used to bury their own babies alive to the most compassionate, caring persons– He (S.A.W) brought out the best in all his companions. As such, practicing good manner counts as following the Sunnah!

Remember, you take one step towards Allah, Allah takes ten steps towards you.

May Allah protect us all and grant us the ability to overcome our Nafs.

Love and Duas,

TWS ❤

Deeds

6 comments

  1. bint ebrahim · · Reply

    I’m with you on this issue. If we ever said ‘I want’ or ‘give me’, the only thing we got was a slap or ‘the look’.
    But you can’t blame the children if parents are devoid of common courtesy.
    Unfortunately those who are more disciplined and strict with their children are made to feel like they are ill treating them.

    Like

    1. I know the ‘Look’!! xD Exactly. We survived just fine without having EVERY SINGLE toy stores have to offer!

      Like

  2. Lovely, masha Allah.

    Like

    1. Jazakallah Khair ❤ Absolutely in love with your blogs as well!

      Like

  3. Binti Mahmood · · Reply

    Assalaamu Alaykum…….. I smiling as I read this post……..very valid points……. the ninja one was just so funny……….

    Like

    1. Wa alaikum Salaam 🌻 Haha, اضحك الله سنك! Jazakallah Khair!

      Like

Leave a Reply

