“I planned to take over the world this morning, but I overslept”

I mean, I should have expected that since I oversleep a lot. Because I’m not a morning person. And I have no self-control when it comes to following a bedtime. But I still had the intention, and hey, this post is dedicated to the importance of intentions.

Nobody intends to hit their sibling hard enough to make them cry. Mainly because no matter whose fault it is, the person who sobs or has a war-wound is always the victim to parents (Always). On the odd few occasions, students truly intend doing their homework. Mostly because not doing it gets boring after a while, however that’ll be the day they forget it (Of Course). My niece doesn’t intend to laugh at my sister (her mother) after she bites her. She’s just a 1 year 1 day (!!) old innocent that’s helping me get revenge for the times I got  a smacks from said sister (obviously, I didn’t deserve them).

Nabi (S.A.W) said: “Actions are but by intentions and each person will have but that which he intended.” Al-Bukhari (1) and Muslim (1907).

There are Intentions of 2 types: Obligatory and Mustahab. [Paraphrased from https://islamqa.info/en/95095%5D

1 – When an act of worship requires an intention for it to be valid, such intention is referred to as being Obligatory. Making wudhu, performing Salaah, paying Zakaat, Fasting, Doing Hajj. These actions cannot be done without an intention.

Note: When one stands to perform Salaah, knowing that it is Zuhr Salaah, for example, and he intends to offer the prayer and gets up to do it, then he has formed the intention. It is not necessary to say out loud, “I intend to pray Zuhr prayer”. The intention is to be made in the heart. It’s difficult for one to forget the intention in such cases.

If a person utters something by mistake that goes against what is in his heart, then what counts is what he intended, not what he said.

2 – The second type of intention is that which is Mustahab in order to attain reward. We often forget to make an intention when doing permissible things, in order for them to become acts of worship.

Mu’adh (R.A) said: “I sleep and I get up (to pray at night), and I seek reward for my sleep as I seek reward for my getting up.” Narrated by Al-Bukhari (4088). Mu’adh (R.A) sought reward for his sleep just as he sought reward for his getting up to pray at night, because he intended by sleeping to gain strength to do acts of worship.

Before executing any deed, deliberate and avoid being hasty as this assists one to think through of the intention.

Ibn Abaas (R.A) narrated that Nabi (S.A.W) said: “Allah decreed good deeds and bad deeds. Whoever thinks of doing a good deed then does not do it, Allah will write it down as one complete good deed. If he thinks of doing a good deed and then does it, Allah will write it down between ten and seven hundred fold, or many more. If he thinks of doing a bad deed then he does not do it, Allah will write it down as one complete good deed, and if he thinks of it then does it, Allah will write it down as one bad deed.” Al-Bukhari (6491) and Muslim (131)

Remember, you take one step towards Allah, Allah takes ten steps towards you.

May Allah protect us all and grant us the ability to overcome our Nafs.

Love and Duas,

TWS ❤

74deecb168a1844e9647d182049acc65

6 comments

  1. Muhajirah · · Reply

    I’m telling you, you’re my long lost twin 😇. Loool. Love the way you put pen on paper. I could never do that . And give me a highfive my partner in oversleeping ✋🏻

    Like

    1. Hey, twin! Thankfully not lost anymore 🌼 😛 *virtual highfive* 🙌 Jazakallah Khair ❤

      Like

  2. Muhajirah · · Reply

    I’m a light sleeper but can’t get myself out of bed even when I’m awake. There must be a Magnet there that pulls people with a particular blood type 😳😝

    Like

    1. Haha, same! Like, I can hear them up and about (90% of the time shouting for me), but nope. Can’t move from the bed ✋😂 There’s a theory. *mentally says Alhamdulillah for my blood type that I don’t know* 😆😛🙊

      Like

      1. Muhajirah · ·

        Literally rotfl!! Honestly we need to be friends 😂😂😂😂. Keep it up sis 👍🏻. You’re a crazy character (a good one 😉 )
        Barakallah fik

        Like

Leave a Reply

