“I have a dream that one day we will wake up for sehri”

Please, for Allah’s sake, wake up for sehri.

I was going to leave the line above as is due to time constraints, but then I thought- “What’s more important? Putting cheese on top of pizza or embarrassing my family on a universal platform?”

Trick question; they’re equal. I’d rather not get on the bad side of my mother but letting a chance like this go by would be seemingly ungrateful of me.

My parents are chirpy (and I mean, chirpy) in the morning. By some hilarious, ironic contrast (Hellloo Murphy’s Law), none of their five children are. So, our sehri dastarkhan’s population is majority zombies (with a sprinkling of sunshine). We never did get away with skipping it, however. Bring your blanket? Sure. Want hot chips? Sure. Eat only a kajoor? Sure. Sleep through? NO. NO. ABORT MISSION. HOW DARE YOU EVEN THINK IT?!

We survived. And it became a habit, alhamdulillah. Because, the mercy of Allah, and His Malaa’ikah are upon those who eat sehri. And our Rasool (S.A.W) said that if there is nothing else, at least a date should be eaten or one should drink water.

Nabi (S.A.W) said: “The difference between our fasting and that if the Ahl-e-Kitaab (Jews and Christians) is that we eat sehri, and they do not.”

Sahaabah (R.A) narrate that when Rasoolullah (S.A.W) used to invite any of them for sehri, He (S.A.W) used to say: “Come and eat the blessed food with me.” Another Sahaabah (R.A) reports that he visited Nabi (S.A.W) at the time when He (S.A.W) was busy eating sehri. Nabi (S.A.W) told him: “This is a thing full of barakah, which Allah has granted you. Do not give it up.”

This doesn’t mean that one should take this as an opportunity to over-eat (but eat the thing you were feeling for the whole day because it will haunt you). Eating more than is required is harmful to the body, and eating less causes discomfort. Don’t eat 3 samoosa’s, eat 2 (and share with your siblings). M O D E R A T I O N.

Ibn Hajar (RA) has listed 7 blessings of sehri, asumk mentioned in the Fazaail-e-Aa’maal:

1. The Sunnah is followed.
2. Through sehri, we separate ourselves from the ways of the Ahl-e-Kitaab, which we are supposed to do at all times.
3. It provides strength to worship Allah.
4. It causes greater sincerity in the worship of Allah.
5. It aids in preventing bad temper, which normally comes as a result of hunger.
6. Sehri is the time when duas are accepted.
7. At the time of sehri, one get the opportunity to remember Allah.

Suhoor is the meal before dawn. Not after Taraweeh, not before going to sleep; shortly before dawn. To eat sehri at the last permissible time is better and greater in reward than eating earlier. Of course, be sure to ensure that you’re within the time frame!

Allahumma barik lana fi Sha’baan wa baligna Ramadhan!

Remember, you take one step towards Allah, Allah takes ten steps towards you.

May Allah protect us all and grant us the ability to overcome our Nafs.

Love and Duas,

TWS โคย 

image

8 comments

  1. I love your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jazakallah Khair so much (redundancy levels ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ˜†)!

      Like

  2. bint ebrahim · · Reply

    Oh yes I’m quite familiar with the ‘sehri zombies’. Fortunately I am not one of them though as time goes I start becoming like them. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Hope u have a blessed ramadhaan and please do remember us in your duaas.

    Like

    1. Haha, welcome to the dark side 😆 Jazakallah Khair! Wa iyyaki, and remember me in your duas as well 🌻

      Like

  3. bintimahmood · · Reply

    I’m a chirpy bird in the mornings……. especially in Ramadhaan……..and my family tells me I’m gonna get married in a family where they not morning people (and lm like noo don’t say thaat๐Ÿ™ˆ)……..

    Like

    1. Haha, ~how~ do you’ll do it? You have to let us know if that actually happens ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

      1. bintimahmood · ·

        I dunno……. It comes naturallyโ˜บ……..lol I’m still young for marriage

        Like

      2. So there’s no hope for me xD I’m destined to be not-so-chirpy in the mornings! ๐Ÿ˜… Oh man, you’re going to make us wait ๐Ÿ˜›

        Like

Leave a Reply

