“Tell me about the love for His (S.A.W)’s wetnurses” 

As narrated by Haleema (R.A): “It was a year of drought and famine and we had nothing to eat. I rode on a brown female donkey. We also had with us an old she-camel. By Allah, we could get not even a drop of milk. We could not have a wink of sleep during the night for the child kept crying because of hunger. There was not enough milk in my breast and even the she-camel had nothing to feed him. 

At length, we reached Makkah Mukarramah looking for children to suckle. Not even a single woman amongst us accepted the Messenger of Allah (S.A.W) offered to her. As soon as they were told that he was an orphan, they refused him. Am orphan! What are his grandfather and mother likely to do? So we spurned him because of that. Every woman who came with me got a suckling and when we were about to depart, I said to my husband: “By Allah, I do not like to go back without a baby. I should go to that orphan and must take him.” He said, “There is no harm in doing so and perhaps Allah may bless through him.” 

So I went and took him and I did it simply because there was no other alternative left for me but to take him. When I lifted him in my arms and returned to my place, I out him on my breast and to my great surprise, I found enough milk in it. He drank to his hearts content and so did his foster brother and then both of them went to sleep although my baby had not been able to sleep the previous night. My husband then went to the she-camel to milk it, and to his astonishment, he found plenty of milk in it. He milked it, and we drank to our fill and enjoyed a sound sleep during the night. The next morning, my husband said: “By Allah, Haleema, you must understand that you have been able to get a blessed child.” And I replied, “By Allah, I hope so.” (Ibn Hasham, Vol 1, page 163)

Abu Bakr (R.A) once said’ “Oh Messenger of Allah (S.A.W), you are very eloquent in your expression.” Nabi (S.A.W) replied: “I was born in a family if the Quraish and suckled by a lady of Banu Sa’ad.” [i.e. Halima]

Anas (R.A) reported that Nabi (S.A.W) went to Umm Aiman and I went along with Him (S.A.W) and she served Rasoolullah (S.A.W) a drink in a vessel and he reported that the narrator said: “I do not know whether it was because of the fasting (or for any other reason) that He (S.A.W) refused to accept.” Umm Aiman raised her voice and showed annoyance to Nabi (S.A.W). 

Nabi (S.A.W) used to say that Umm Aiman had every right to talk loudly to Him (S.A.W) as she nursed our Rasool (S.A.W) in childhood. Nabi (S.A.W) also called Umm Aiman His (S.A.W)’s second mother, after Nabi (S.A.W)’s real mother. 

Abu’t Tufayl said, “I saw the Messenger (S.A.W) when I was a boy. A woman came towards Him (S.A.W). When she was near Nabi (S.A.W), Nabi (S.A.W) spread out his cloak for her and she sat on it. I asked, ‘Who is this?’ They replied, ‘His foster mother who suckled him’.”

Amr ibn Sa’ib related that one day, the Messenger of Allah (S.A.W) was sitting when his father by suckling came up to him. Rasoolullah (S.A.W) spread out part of his garment for him and the man to sit on it. Then his mother by suckling came up and he put half of his garment on the other side for her and she sat on it. Then his brother by suckling came up and Nabi (S.A.W) got up and made him sit in front of him. 

He (S.A.W) used to send gifts and clothes to Thuwayba, the client of Abu Lahab, who had been his wet-nurse. When she passed away, Nabi (S.A.W) asked, “Which of her relatives are still alive?” He (S.A.W) was told, “No one”. 

In a Hadith from Khadija (R.A); she told Rasoolullah (S.A.W), “Rejoice! By Allah, Allah will never bring you to grief. You maintain connection with kinsfolk, you bear all, you give help to those in need, you give hospitality to the guest and you help people to get what is due to them.”

[Taken from The personality of Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W) before the call]

Don’t forget to recite as much Durood as you can!

Love and Duas,

TWS ❤

Leave a Reply

