“Expatiate about longing for Him (S.A.W)” 

Rasoolullah (صلى الله عليه و سلم) has expressed his longing to meet the believers who would come after his death till Qiyamah saying, “I hope to see my brothers!” The Sahabah (رضى الله عنهم) said, “We are your brothers!” Nabi (صلى الله عليه و سلم) replied, “You are my companions. My brothers are those who will believe in me without seeing me.” [Bulugh al-Amani, vol 1, p.104] 

A Muslims yearning to see our Rasool (صلى الله عليه و سلم) should not only be expressed through tears. Our yearning should be so strong that it creates a motive for us to follow the Sunnah. To do whatever is possible from our side to make it a reality; May Allah accept, Ameen. 

To yearn to Rasoolullah (صلى الله عليه و سلم) is to love Him ( صلى الله عليه و سلم). The easiest way to keep that love alive is by reading the Seerah of Nabi (صلى الله عليه و سلم), the Companions (رضى الله عنهم) and the pious who follow in their footsteps. 

Judge ‘Iyad said: “One of the signs that one loves Nabi (صلى الله عليه و سلم) is to keep remembering him and to yearn to meet him as people long to meet their beloved one’s.”[Al-Manaqib, vol 6, p.696]

Imam Ahmad reported on the authority of A’isha (رضى الله عنها) who said, “When Abu Bakr (ر ضى الله عنه) was on the verge of death, he asked, ‘What is this day?’ He was told, ‘It is Monday’. Abu Bakr (رضى الله عنه) replied, ‘If I am to die this night, do not wait until tomorrow to bury me. The dearest time to me is the closest to meet Nabi (صلى الله عليه و سلم)”. [Fadl Ilahi, Hubb an-nabiyy, p.40]

One night, Umar (رضى الله عنه) went out to see how things were going on with his subjects. He saw the light of a lantern coming out of a house. He got close to that house and heard an old woman chanting with expressive words her longing for the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه و سلم). At this, Umar (رضى الله عنه) cried deeply and then knocked at the door of the house. The old woman called, “Who is there?” Umar (رضى الله عنه) replied, “This is Umar Al-Khattab”. She answered, “I have no business with Umar. What did make him come at this hour?” He said, “Open the door, May Allah have mercy on you, and you will not be wronged”. She opened the door, Umar (رضى الله عنه) stepped in and requested of her, “May you invoke Allah for me so that He would make me join Rasoolullah ( صلى الله عليه و سلم) with you?” The old woman exclaimed, “And Umar too! May Allah, the All-Forgiving, forgive Umar!”. Umar (رضى الله عنه) was then pleased and left. [Hayat as-Sahabah, vol 2, p.330]

When Bilal (رضى الله عنه) was on his deathbed, his wife was crying, “Oh what a sad woman I am!” He replied, “Oh what a happy man I am! Tomorrow I will meet my beloved one’s; Muhammad (صلى الله عليه و سلم) and his Companions.” [Ibid, vol 2, p.12]

It was reported on the authority of ‘Abdah bint Khalid Ma’dan who said, “Every night my father (Khalid) went to bed, he used to remember Allah’s Messenger (صلى الله عليه و سلم) and his Companions out of longing for them. He used to name them one by one and he would say, ‘They are my origin and my relation. I yearn to see them with all my heart. How deep I am longing for them!’ Khalid used to do so until he fell asleep.” [Ash-Shifa, vol 2, p.17]

[Referenced from How To Love The Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W) by Nabil Al-Mua’dh]

Don’t forget to recite as much Durood as you can!

Love and Duas,

TWS ❤

Leave a Reply

