“Tell me about venerating Him (S.A.W)” 

Nabi (صلى الله عليه و سلم) said: “… He does not belong to us whoever does not confess the right of our scholars.” 

Rasoolullah (صلى الله عليه و سلم) is the most knowledgeable and virtuous. How much more respect should we therefore show to our Rasool (صلى الله عليه و سلم)? 

The Sahaabah (رضى الله عنهم) set the best example in teaching us the level of veneration Rasoolullah (صلى الله عليه و سلم) should be awarded. 
Abu Ayyub Al-Ansari (رضى الله عنه) spoke about the days Nabi (صلى الله عليه و سلم) spent in his house. He said, “When the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه و سلم) came to stay in my house, he said he would lodge in the lower part of the house while Umm Ayyub (Abu Ayyub’s wife) and I would stay in the upper part. So I said, ‘Oh Nabi of Allah! I ransom you with my father and mother! I dislike and count it as a greatly impolite act that I should be above you and you be under me, so please move upstairs and we will be downstairs’. Nabi (صلى الله عليه و سلم) replied, ‘Oh Abu Ayyub, it is better for us and whoever may visit us to be in the lower part of the house'”. Abu Ayyub continued, “So the Messenger of Allah lodged downstairs and we were upstairs. Then, one day a jar containing water broke so Umm Ayyub and I dried the place out with a piece of velvet that was pur only quilt, lest the water should fall down and annoy the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه و سلم). Then, I went down to him worried and kept asking him to move upstairs until he accepted.” It is mentioned that Abu Ayyub did not sleep fearing the dust would fall on Nabi (صلى الله عليه و سلم) if he moved. [Al-Buti, Fiqh As-Sirah, p.142]

It was reported that whenever Imam Malik wanted to say a Hadith, he used to wash his whole body, apply incense and perfume, wear the best of his clothes, comb his beard and sit on a platform which was not used except when he said Ahadith. 

Abbas Ibn Abd Al-Muttalib (رضى الله عنه), the paternal uncle of Nabi (صلى الله عليه و سلم) was asked, “Which of you preceded the other (meaning in age); you or the Messenger of Allah?” Abbas (رضى الله عنه) replied, “He preceded me in honour and rank and I preceded him in age.” [Ibn Abd Rabbuh, Al-Iqd Al-Farid, vol 2, p.262] 

Amr (رضى الله عنه) said, “Nobody was dearer to me nor more venerable in my eyes than the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه و سلم), and I would not bear looking at him in full out of my glorification for him. If I were asjed to describe him, I would not be able to because I never looked at him in full.” [Ash-Shifa, vol 2, p.30]

Out of Nabi (صلى الله عليه و سلم)’s humility, he refused that people’s reverence of him should turn into fear or that it should be expressed in any forms that kings and their likes prefer. Moreover, Rasoolullah (صلى الله عليه و سلم) was never seen with his legs spread in front of people; rather, he respected them just as they respected him.

It was reported that once when a man entered upon the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه و سلم), he trembled because of Nabi (صلى الله عليه و سلم)’s solemnity. Nabi (صلى الله عليه و سلم) told him, “Take it easy, for I am not a king; I am only a son of a woman from the Quraysh who used to eat jerked meat.” [Ash-Shifa, vol 1, p.77]

[Referenced from How To Love The Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W) by Nabil Al-Mua’dh]

Don’t forget to recite as much Durood as you can!

Love and Duas,

TWS ❤

Leave a Reply

